Larchmont Temple Chevra Torah

Questioning faith in the parsha

If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem, by Yehudah Amichai

If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem

If I forget thee, Jerusalem,
Then let my right be forgotten.
Let my right be forgotten, and my left remember.
Let my left remember, and your right close And your mouth open near the gate.

I shall remember Jerusalem
And forget the forest — my love will remember,
Will open her hair, will close my window,
will forget my right,
Will forget my left.

If the west wind does not come
I’ll never forgive the walls, Or the sea, or myself.
Should my right forget
My left shall forgive,
I shall forget all water,
I shall forget my mother.

If I forget thee, Jerusalem,
Let my blood be forgotten.
I shall touch your forehead,
Forget my own,
My voice change
For the second and last time
To the most terrible of voices –
Or silence.

2 responses to “If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem, by Yehudah Amichai

  1. Pingback: April 9 chevra « Larchmont Temple Chevra Torah

  2. Pingback: About Amichai’s poetry « Larchmont Temple Chevra Torah

Leave a Reply

