Larchmont Temple Chevra Torah

Questioning faith in the parsha

People die but not relationships

Another, I think later, text by Yehuda Amichai opens one more window on this morning’s discussion:

My father’s memorial day

On my father’s memorial day

I went out to see his mates –

All those buried with him in one row,

His life’s graduation class.

I already remember most of their names,

Like a parent collecting his little son

From school, all of his friends.

My father still loves me, and I

love him always, so I don’t weep.

But in order to do justice to this place

I have lit a weeping in my eyes

With the help of a nearby grave –

A child’s. “Our little Yossy, who was

Four when he died.”

“My father still loves me, and I/ love him always, so I don’t weep”.  So it was that Jacob was gathered to his people and Israel continued to live. But we weep for the little boy, we weep for what did not flower.

Leave a Reply

